Open House Event at the IMLD

On Thursday, November 20th, we had an Open House Event at the Interactive Media Lab Dresden. The event took place directly after the international tabletop conference (ITS 2014), organized by the IMLD, and combined two exciting scientific talks by Dr. Sheelagh Carpendale and Dr. Miguel Nacenta with demos of our research prototypes. A buffet sponsored by MultiTouch Ltd. supplied our guests with the energy needed. Also, Dr. Tommi Ilmonen, CTO of MultiTouch Ltd., presented the technology behind our interactive multitouch wall and was able to answer questions. We thank MultiTouch Ltd. for sponsoring the event and all our guests for their interest in our research and the valuable, positive feedback.

openhouse01 openhouse02

Additional impressions of the event can be found in our photo gallery.

ITS 2014 in Dresden, Germany

The International Conference on Interactive Tabletops and Surfaces (ITS’14) took place from Nov 16 – 19, 2014 in Dresden, Germany. As principal organizers of this years event, we were particularly keen to make these four days an enjoyable and pleasant happening. The hard work of Co-General Chair Raimund Dachselt, our team as well as all others involved has paid off. Catch some impressions of the conference at our photo gallery!

Continue reading

Two Invited Talks in November

We are happy to announce to exciting research talks in November. On Thursday, November 20th Dr. Sheelagh Carpendale and Dr. Miguel Nacenta are going to visit us. Starting 9.30 am, Dr. Carpendale is going to give a talk on Thinking about Interacting with Information in our Everyday Lives. Then, at 10.15 am, Dr. Nacenta is going to talk about Playing with perception, representation, and presentation: three ways to subvert current visualization techniques. Both research talks will take place in the lecture hall INF E023. Anyone interested is cordially invited!

IML Dresden at OUTPUT and the Long Night of Sciences Dresden

This year’s two big events, the 9th edition of OUTPUT, the project show of our faculty as well as the 12th Long Night of Sciences Dresden took place on July 3 and 4. Find exciting impressions captured on images at our photo gallery!
Continue reading

Promotion Sophie Stellmach

The first PhD student of the Interactive Media Lab Dresden to do so, Sophie Stellmach very successfully defended her dissertation on May 17th. 2013. Congratulations from all of us for this great achievement, Sophie! The topic of the dissertation was “Gaze-Supported Multimodal Interaction”. We were ale to win Prof. Robert Jacob, PhD of Tufts University (USA) as external supervisor. As the promotion was started in Magdeburg, some ceremonial traditions from Mageburg enriched the festivity in Dresden. The photo gallery gives an insight into this memorable day. It was crowned with a party on the banks of the Elbe in the evening, where Sophie also mastered the “real” parts of her defense.

Open-House-Event am IMLD

Am Donnerstag, dem 20. November, fand am Interactive Media Lab Dresden ein Open-House-Event statt. Das im direkten Anschluss an die vom IMLD organisierte international Tabletop-Konferenz (ITS 2014) gelegene Event verband zwei spannende wissenschaftliche Vorträge von Dr. Sheelagh Carpendale und Dr. Miguel Nacenta mit Demos der hier entstandenen Prototypen. Kulinarisch versorgt wurden unsere Gäste durch ein von MultiTouch Ltd. gesponsertes Buffet. Dr. Tommi Ilmonen, CTO, MultiTouch Ltd., präsentierte zudem die Technologie hinter unserer interaktiven Multitouch-Wand und stand für Fragen zur Verfügung. Wir bedanken uns bei MultiTouch Ltd. für das Sponsoring und bei allen Gästen für ihr Interesse an unserer Forschung und das positive Feedback.

openhouse01 openhouse02

Weitere Eindrücke der Veranstaltung finden sich in unserer Fotogalerie.

ITS 2014 in Dresden!

Vom 16. bis 19. November 2014 fand die 9te International Conference on Interactive Tabletops and Surfaces (ITS’14) in Dresden (Deutschland) statt. Als Hauptorganisatoren des diesjährigen Events war es uns ein besonderes Anliegen, die vier Tage zu einem bleibenden Erlebnis zu machen. Die lange und harte Arbeit von Co-General Chair Raimund Dachselt, unseres Teams sowie aller anderen Beteiligten hat sich ausgezahlt. Unsere Fotogalerie verschafft einen vielseitigen Einblick in den Verlauf der Konferenz.

Weiterlesen

Zwei Gastvorträge im November

Wir freuen uns, zwei spannende Gastvorträge im November ankündigen zu dürfen. Am Donnerstag, 20. November werden uns Dr. Sheelagh Carpendale und Dr. Miguel Nacenta besuchen.

Dr. Carpendale hält ab 9:30 Uhr einen Vortrag zum Thema Thinking about Interacting with Information in our Everyday Lives.
Im Anschluss um 10:15 Uhr referiert Dr. Nacenta zum Thema Playing with perception, representation, and presentation: three ways to subvert current visualization techniques. Beide Vorträge finden im Hörsaal INF E023 statt. Alle Interessenten sind herzlich eingeladen!

IML Dresden präsentiert sich bei OUTPUT und der Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften

Zufrieden blicken wir auf zwei ereignisreiche und spannende Tage zurück. Entdecken Sie die OUTPUT und Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in Bildern in unserer Fotogalerie!

Am Donnerstag, den 3. Juli 2014 fand nun schon zum 9. Mal die alljährliche Projektschau der Fakultät Informatik, OUTPUT statt. Wir haben drei studentische Arbeiten ausgewählt, die den interessierten Besuchern ihre beachtlichen Ergebnisse präsentieren konnten. Duc Dung Dam und Daniel Bösel verhalfen in ihrem Spiel Break Block Mountain verletzten Bergarbeitern an der Display-Wall zur Rettung, Tamara Flemisch ließ den humanoiden Roboter Nao expressiv gestikulieren & sprechen und schließlich stellten Robert Morawa mit Tom Horak ihr Projekt Nornir vor, eine interaktive Graphenvisualisierung zur Darstellung zeitbezogener Daten.
Weiterlesen

Promotion Sophie Stellmach

Mit Sophie Stellmach hat am 17. Mai 2013 die erste Mitarbeiterin des Interactive Media Labs Dresden ihre Dissertation mit ausgezeichnetem Erfolg verteidigt. Herzlichen Glückwunsch von uns allen zu dieser tollen Leistung, Sophie! Das Thema der Dissertation war „Gaze-Supported Multimodal Interaction“. Als externen Gutachter konnten wir Prof. Robert Jacob, PhD von der Tufts University (USA) gewinnen. Da die Promotion in Magdeburg begonnen wurde, haben auch einige Magdeburger Zeremonie-Traditionen die Dresdner Feier bereichert. Die Fotogalerie gibt Einblicke in diesen denkwürdigen Tag. Gekrönt wurde er mit einer abendlichen Feier am Elbhang, wo Sophie auch die „eigentlichen“ Prüfungsbestandteile mit Bravour meisterte.