Course description

In the practical laboratory course “Foundations of Physical Computing”, we teach theoretical basics as well as practical knowledge for the development of interactive, physical prototypes. Therefore, we first look into the electronic basics, and will test and discuss components and circuits using small examples. In addition, participants will learn how to use sensors, actuators and displays by using the Arduino microcontroller. The learned knowledge will be deepened by creating practical examples and accompanying in-depth lectures and exercises. Furthermore, CAD modelling and its physical fabrication using a 3D printer are also part of the seminar. In addition, participants will also gain insights into wearables, e-textiles and smart materials and manufacture their own textile touch and pressure sensors. In parallel, each project group will also work on a practical project in which own prototypes for human-computer interaction will be developed and presented at the end of the course.

Details for 2021

A mechanical flower that “grows” the more exercise I do? Or it dies when I drink too little? Or if I don’t water my real flower?

This year we are developing “Shape-Changing Artifacts”, which are able to change their physical shape all by themselves. For example, individual actuation may change their geometry, volume, surface, or bend. These objects are to be employed to positively influence the behavior of the user.
Based on a combination of sensors, WiFi-enabled microcontrollers, electromechanical actuators, and individual mechanics, we want to construct interactive and meaningful objects for private use. You will learn all the necessary components and techniques in the first week of the workshop so that you can apply them directly to your own project in the following week.

We are currently working on all details regarding this course. Further details will be published here as soon as they are available.

Date and Scope

  • Course format: Practical laboratory course, 0/0/4P
  • Period: 10.09.20 till 08.10.20
    (core time: 13.09. till 01.10.20, full-day)
Calendar week 36
10.09.21
Kick-Off Meeting
Time to be announced
Calendar week 37
13.09.21 till 17.09.21
Workshops & induction training
Further information will follow.
Calendar week 38
20.09.21 till 24.09.21
Supervised practical work
Further information will follow.
Calendar week 39
27.09.21 till 01.10.21
Individual practical work
Further information will follow.
Final Presentation (01.10.21, time to be announced)
Calendar week 40
04.10.21 till 08.10.21
Follow-up time for the project documentation
Finalization of the project documentation.

Course enrolment

Please note that the number of participants for this course is limited to a maximum of 12 participants.
Participants will be considered according to the order of registration.

Course credits

INF-B-510, INF-B-520, INF-B-530, INF-B-540, INF-MA-PR, INF-VMI-4

 

All information about the course is preliminary and later changes are possible.

Kursbeschreibung

Im Blockpraktikum „Foundations of Physical Computing“ werden theoretische Grundlagen und praktische Kenntnisse für die Entwicklung interaktiver, physischer Systeme vermittelt. Hierzu werden zunächst elektronische Grundlagen anhand kleinerer Beispiele vorgestellt, ausprobiert und diskutiert. Zudem wird die Ansteuerung und Programmierung von Sensoren, Aktuatoren und Displays auf Basis des Arduino Microcontrollers an praktischen Beispielen umgesetzt und durch vertiefende Vorträge sowie Übungen ergänzt. Auch die CAD-Modellierung und deren physische Fabrikation mittels 3D-Drucker sind Bestandteil des Praktikums. Darüber hinaus werden Teilnehmer*innen des Blockpraktikums Einblicke in Wearables, E-Textiles und Smart Materials erlangen. Parallel arbeitet jede Projektgruppe zudem an einem Praxisprojekt, in dem eigene Prototypen zur Mensch-Computer-Interaktion entwickelt und am Ende des Blockpraktikums vorgestellt werden.

Plan für 2021

Eine mechanische Blume die „wächst“, je mehr Sport ich mache? Oder sie geht ein, wenn ich zu wenig trinke? Oder wenn ich meine echte Blume nicht gieße?

Dieses Jahr entwickeln wir „Shape-Changing Artifacts“, welche in der Lage sind, eigenständig ihre physische Form zu ändern. Durch gezielt Aktuierung ist so beispielsweise eine Änderung der Geometrie, des Volumens, der Oberfläche oder der Biegung denkbar. Diese Objekte sollen eingesetzt werden, um das Verhalten des späteren Nutzers zum Positiven zu beeinflussen.
Aus einer Kombination von Sensoren, WLAN-fähigen Mikrocontrollern, elektromechanischen Aktoren und individuellen Mechaniken wollen wir interaktive und sinnstiftende Objekte für den privaten Gebrauch konstruieren. Alle benötigten Komponenten und Techniken lernt ihr in der ersten Workshop-Woche, um sie in der folgenden Woche direkt für Euer eigenes Projekt anzuwenden.

Der genaue Ablauf des Blockpraktikum ist gerade in sorgfältiger Planung. Weitere Informationen werden, sobald verfügbar, auf dieser Seite veröffentlicht.

Zeitraum und Umfang

  • Format: Blockpraktikum, 0/0/4P
  • Zeit: 10.09.20 bis 08.10.20
    (Kernzeit: 13.09. bis 01.10.20, ganztägig)
Kalenderwoche 36
10.09.21
Kick-Off Veranstaltung
Uhrzeit wird noch bekannt gegeben.
Kalenderwoche 37
13.09.21 bis 17.09.21
Workshops & thematische Einarbeitung
Weiter Information folgen.
Kalenderwoche 38
20.09.21 bis 24.09.21
Betreute Projektarbeit
Weiter Information folgen.
Kalenderwoche 39
27.09.21 bis 01.10.21
Eigenständige Projektarbeit
Weiter Information folgen.
Abschlusspräsentation (01.10.21, Uhrzeit wird noch bekannt gegeben.)
Kalenderwoche 40
04.10.21 bis 08.10.21
Nachbereitungszeit und Projekt Dokumentation
Ausarbeitung der Projektdokumentation.

Einschreibung

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Teilnehmerzahl für dieses Blockpraktikum auf maximal 12 Teilnehmer begrenzt ist.
Die Plätze werden anhand der Einschreibereihenfolge vergeben.

Modulanrechnung

INF-B-510, INF-B-520, INF-B-530, INF-B-540, INF-MA-PR, INF-VMI-4

 

Alle Angaben zu dem Blockpraktikum sind unter Vorbehalt und spätere Änderungen oder Anpassungen sind möglich.